Am I protected with Florida’s minimum coverage?
Am I protected with Florida’s minimum coverage? Far from what many imagine, driving in Florida is not a right, it is a privilege subject to certain requirements. In addition to needing a driver’s license and being required to abide by traffic laws, all Florida registered cars must have at least $10,000 Personal Injury Coverage (PIP) and $10,000 or more. civil liability for damages to third parties -PDL- for the same amount of money.
As Florida is a state where the no-fault law governs, the PIP coverage is intended to cover 80% of the medical bills -up to $10,000- of the driver who owns the policy, in case of suffering an accident, regardless of whose fault it is. This same policy also covers your companions and the pedestrians involved.
On the other hand, civil liability coverage is responsible for paying for damage to the property of third parties if you cause the accident.
But even if you live in a no-fault state, it’s a good idea to have a Bodily Injury Liability or BI policy for a minimum of 100/300. This means that if you cause an accident, each person you’ve injured will have $100,000 in medical coverage, up to a maximum of $300,000 total per accident. If you are sued, which is normal if you are at fault, you will be protected from paying the very expensive medical bills.
It doesn’t help much that the minimum coverage required in Florida only covers up to $10,000 in third-party property damage. Look around you and calculate how much it costs to repair a vehicle that circulates on the roads of your city. Any responsible insurance agent will recommend that you raise your PDL to a minimum of $50,000 so that you are more protected in the event of an accident. In short, if you want to be calm, try to reflect the following numbers in your insurance contract: 100/300/50 and do not risk it with the minimum coverage established by Florida law. Am I protected with Florida’s minimum coverage?