Do I need insurance to drive a motorcycle in Florida?
Do I need insurance to drive a motorcycle in Florida? The law in Florida does not require motorcyclists to have motorcycle insurance. However, if you decide to get one to ride on the streets of the Sunshine State, you must be able to demonstrate financial responsibility in case of causing an accident. The easiest way to do this is by purchasing liability insurance that covers, for example, $10,000 in bodily injury per person, $20,000 in bodily injury per accident, and $10,000 in property damage.
If you prefer riding with the wind in your hair, the state law requires medical coverage for those motorcyclists who do not wear helmets.
However, despite Florida being a no-fault state, in the event of an accident, the motorcyclist must seek compensation from the at-fault driver for loss of income, medical expenses, injuries suffered, and motorcycle damages.
Being a no-fault state means that when an accident happens, each insurance company pays its client’s medical bills, regardless of who is at fault. But this only applies to four-wheeled vehicles.
We insist, do not forget to carry proof of liability insurance; it will save you trouble and time if a police officer stops you during a routine check.
At Univista Insurance, you can get the cheapest auto insurance in Florida. Do I need insurance to drive a motorcycle in Florida?