The law of no guilt, how does it influence me?
Governor prevents repealing the law of no guilt, how does it influence me? Gov. Ron DeSantis eventually vetoed the controversial SB 54 bill that repealed the Florida No-Fault Act and required drivers to purchase more expensive insurance. Due to this action by the Governor, motorists in the state will continue to be required to have a minimum coverage of $ 10,000 of Personal Injury Protection, PIP, and $ 10,000 of Property Damage Liability, PDL.
This means that if you have PIP and are involved in an accident, you can get compensation for your injuries, without worrying about who was at fault.
The PIP will cover 80% of medical expenses and 60% of lost wages for 14 days for you, your family, and those who accompany you in an accident.
Despite being a no-fault state, if the PIP is insufficient to pay for treatment after an accident, your insurer can sue the at-fault driver for damages.
But according to statistics in Florida, 20% of drivers lack insurance and even if you need more money to cover your medical expenses, in 20% of cases, there will be nowhere to get it from.
Therefore, it is recommended that you have uninsured driver insurance or UIM / UIMBI. This will provide you with some extra protection to pay for the medical care you need if the at-fault driver lacks insurance. Governor prevents repealing the law of no guilt, how does it influence me?
Call a Univista Insurance agent and find out which insurance strategy pays the most for you and your pocketbook. At Univista you can find the cheapest insurance in Florida.